Return to Advocate > Advocacy > Issue Areas > Certified Professional Midwife

Certified Professional Midwife

Issue Summary

Certified Professional Midwives (CPMs) enter the profession through various routes including apprenticeship programs or educational programs accredited by the Midwifery Education Accreditation Council (MEAC).  The MEAC educational programs may grant a certificate, an associate's, bachelor's, master's, or doctoral degree.  Most graduates obtain a certificate or associate's degree.  CPMs are authorized to practice in 36 states and the District of Columbia.   

Available Literature and Resources



American College of Nurse-Midwives
409 12th St SW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20024-2188
Phone: 240.485.1800
All rights reserved