This is the login panel

Return to About ACNM > Honors, Awards, and Scholarships > ACNM Awards > 2016 ACNM Awards

2016 ACNM Awards

Hattie Hemschemeyer Award

The Hattie Hemschemeyer Award, named in honor of ACNM?s first president and a pioneer of the profession, is ACNM?s most prestigious award and is given annually to an ACNM member who has been certified for at least 10 years and has made continuous outstanding and/or historically significant contributions to midwifery, ACNM, and/or maternal child health.


Holly Powell Kennedy

Kitty Ernst Award

The Kitty Ernst Award, affectionately known as the ?Young Whippersnapper Award,? is named after the College?s fourth and youngest president, and one of its most dynamic living legends. The Kitty Ernst Award was established in 1998 to honor an ACNM member who has been certified for less than 10 years and has demonstrated innovative, creative endeavors in clinical practice, education, administration, or research relating to midwifery and women?s health.


Maj Elizabeth Nutter

Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes a CNM/CM or other professional for an unusual and exemplary effort in the field of community service, innovation in midwifery practice, education, or research.


Maude Callen

Jan Krebs

Denise McLauglin

Martha Rode

Outstanding Preceptor Award


Robin Aftuck, CNM

Amanda St. Aubin, CNM

Beth Bary, CNM

Michelle Chiafulio, CM

Marcia Ensminger, CNM

Janet Fedullo, CNM

Claudia Gerard, CNM

Rachel Graber, CNM

Andrea Hiles, CNM

Lucia Jenkusky, CNM

Ann Konkoly, CNM

Debra Lowrance, CNM

Pamela Madden, CNM

Deena Mallareddy, CNM

Sukdai Mangru, CNM

Lisa Modell, CNM

Maggie Pastarr, CNM

Caroline Paster, CM

Jaime Pickering, CNM

Carleen Poellinger, CNM

Lynn Rife, CNM

Kate Robinson, CNM

Janine Sayles, CNM

Lori Sherman, CNM

Michelle Telfer, CNM

Cathy Vaux, CNM

Stacy Wilson, CNM

Fellow Award


Megan Arbour, CNM, MS, PhD

Rebeca Barroso, CNM, PhD, DNP

Kathryn Carr, CNM, MSN

Andrea Christianson, CNM, MS

Jenifer O. Fahey, CNM, MSN, MSPH

Sharon L. Holley, CNM, DNP

Maria Christina Johnson, CNM, MS

Ira Kantrowitz-Gordon, CNM, PhD

Linda Locke, CNM, MPH, LSW

Patricia O. Loftman, CNM, LM, MS

Denise McLaughlin, CNM, MPH

Gretchen Mettler, CNM, PhD

Tonia L. Moore-Davis, CNM, PhD(c)

Robin Neumeier, CNM, MSN

Tonya Nicholson, CNM, DNP, WHNP-BC

Angelita Nixon, CNM, MSN, APRN

Julie Paul, CNM, DNP

Jenna Shaw-Battista, CNM, PhD, NP

Letitia Sullivan, CNM, MS

Barbara A. Winningham, CNM, WHNP-BC, DNP

Public Policy Award


Angy Nixon

Media Award


Christy Turlington Burns

Best Book of the Year Award


A History of Midwifery in the United States: The Midwife Said Fear Not

Helen Varney Burst

Joyce E. Thompson

Exemplary Affiliate Award


Alabama State Affiliate of ACNM

Maine State Affiliate of ACNM

New Mexico State Affiliate of ACNM

Ohio State Affiliate of ACNM

Virginia State Affiliate of ACNM

Wisconsin State Affiliate of ACNM

Uniformed Services State Affiliate of ACNM


Support the Teresa Marsico Memorial Fund and Help Fulfill ACNM’s Strategic Plan

Donors to the A.C.N.M. Foundation can help ACNM achieve their 2015-2020 Strategic Plan by designating their monies to the “Marsico Fund” when making contributions at:

American College of Nurse-Midwives.
8403 Colesville Rd, Suite 1550 | Silver Spring MD 20910
Phone: 240-485-1800 | Fax: 240-485-1818
Follow Us