Return to Engage > Awards > ACNM Awards > 2020 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

Hattie Hemschemeyer Award
Ginger Breedlove, PhD, CNM, FACNM, FAAN

Kitty Ernst Award
Mary Paterno, PhD, CNM, FACNM

Louis M Hellman, MD, Midwifery Partnership Award
Given jointly with The A.C.N.M. Foundation and Midwifery Business Network
Joia Adele Crear-Perry, MD, FACOG

Distinguished Service Award
Michelle Collins, PhD, CNM, RN-CEFM, FACNM, FAAN, FNAP
Leissa Roberts, DNP, CNM, FACNM

Clinical Star Awards
Suzanne Berger, CNM (Region I)
Rebecca Garrett-Brown, CNM (Region VII)
Kelley Hammis, CNM, MS (Region IV)
Rosalind Hirst, CNM (Region VII)
Lynn M. Rife, MSN, CNM (Region IV)
Jane Swingle, CNM (Region I)

Exemplary Partner Award
March for Moms

Public Policy Award
Cindy L. Farley, CNM, PhD, FACNM

Media Award
Pacific Business Group on Health

JMWH Best Research Article Award
Carolyn W. Swenson, MD, Lisa Kane Low, CNM, PhD, FACNM, FAAN, Katherine Kowalk, PA-C, and Dee E. Fenner, MD
“Randomized Trial of 3 Techniques of Perineal Skin Closure During Second-Degree Perineal Laceration Repair”

JMWH Best Review Article Award
Danielle Boudreau, CNM, WHNP-BC and Ronica Mukerjee, DNP, FNP, MsA, LAc
“Contraception Care for Transmasculine Individuals on Testosterone Therapy”

JMWH Mary Ann Shah New Author Award
Karen Robinson, PhD, CNM
“Racism, Bias, and Discrimination as Modifiable Barriers to Breastfeeding for African American Women: A Scoping Review of the Literature.”

Outstanding Preceptor Award
Amal Amar-Alattaby, CNM (New York University)
All preceptors at the Atlanta Birth Center (Emory University)
Brandy “Dia” Brooks, SNM (Utah University)
Jennifer Ceccardi, CNM, MSN, CNP (Case Western University)
Amanda Corcoran, CNM, RNC-OB (Fairfield University)
Hannah Diaz, CNM, MSN (Columbia University)
Kathy Fair, CNM (Georgetown University)
Victoria Ferguson, CNM, MSN (University of Pennsylvania)
Alison Hartwell, CNM (Baylor University)
Mary Lou Kopas, CNM (University of Washington)
Kyanna Kuntz, CNM (University of Kansas)
Julie Leung, CNM, APN (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Deborah Ann Smith, CNM (SUNY Downstate)
Suzanne Starling, CNM (Baystate)
Wendy Sturrock (Frontier Nursing University)
Elizabeth Tarrant, CNM (University of New Mexico)
Jessica Tischler, MSN, CNM, APNP (Marquette University)
Tanya Vaughn-Dineen, DNP, CNM, FNP-BC, C-EFM (University of Michigan)
Monica Viera, CNM, MSN, WHNP (Cal State Fullerton)
Rakiya Watts, CNM (SUNY Stony Brook
Donna Wright (East Carolina University)
Brie Zilhardt, DNP, APRN, CNM (University of Minnesota)

Excellence in Teaching Award
Kathlyn Albert, DNP, CNM, APNP, BC, FNP (Marquette University)
Heather Clarke, CNM, FACNM (Frontier Nursing University)
Carly Detterman, CNM (Baystate)
Alexis Brennae Dunn, PhD, CNM (Emory University)
Jessica Ellis, PhD, CNM (University of Utah)
Esther Ellsworth Bowers, CNM, WHNP, MSN, MS, MeD (Georgetown University)
Mary R. Franklin, CNM (Case Western Reserve University)
Eva Fried, DNP, CNM, WHNP (University of Cincinnati)
Judy Lazarus, DNP, CNM, ARNP, FACNM (University of Washington)
Margaret Semisch McCann, MSN, CRNP, WHNP-BC (University of Pennsylvania)
Laura D. Migliaccio, CNM (University of New Mexico)
Tonia Moore-Davis, CNM, MSN, FACNM (Vanderbilt University)
Carrie Neerland, PhD, APRN, CNM, FACNM (University of Minnesota)
Krysta Ramirez Henry, MS, APRN, CNM (University of Kansas)
Patrick Thorton, PhD, CNM (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Exemplary Affiliate Award
Region I: Vermont; Region II: Washington, DC & Virginia; Region III: North Carolina; Region IV: Illinois; Region V: Nebraska; Region VI: Colorado; Region VII: California

With Women for a Lifetime
Centra Medical Group Women’s Center – Silver (10 years)
Claire M. Lintilhac Nurse-Midwifery Service at the University of Vermont – Platinum (50 years)

American College of Nurse-Midwives
409 12th St SW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20024-2188
Phone: 240.485.1800
All rights reserved