Return to Engage > Awards > ACNM Awards > 2013 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

Click the links for full information and press releases.

Hattie Hemschemeyer Award
Tekoa L. King, CNM, MPH, FACNM

Kitty Ernst Award
Terrah Stroda, CNM

Louis E. Hellman Midwifery Partnership Award
Paul Kastell, MD

Public Policy Award

Heather Bradford, CNM, ARNP, FACNM
Kim Dau, CNM

Distinguished Service Award
Julie Gorwoda, CNM
Colleen Conway-Welch, CNM, PhD, FAAN, FACNM
Janet Engstrom, CNM, PhD, FACNM
Lisa Kane Low, CNM, PhD
Alice Bailes, CNM, FACNM

Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health Awards
The following two awards are sponsored by Wiley-Blackwell

Mary Ann Shah New Author Award
Jeanne Murphy, CNM, MSN
For the article entitled, "Cervical Cancer Screening in the Era of Human Papillomavirus Testing and Vaccination" published in Volume 57, Number 6 (November/December 2012) of the Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health and co-authored by Hayley Mark, PhD, MPH, RN.

Best Research Article of the Year Award
Cara Osborne, CNM, MSN, SD; Jeffrey L. Ecker, MD; Kimberlee Gauvreau, ScD; and Ellice Lieberman, MD, DrPH for the article entitled: "First Birth Cesarean and Risk of Antepartum Fetal Death in a Subsequent Pregnancy," published in Volume 57, Number 1 (January/February 2012) of the Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health.

Best Review Article of the Year Award
Katrina Alef Thorstensen, CNM, MSN, and Debra L. Birenbaum, MD  for the article entitled:"Recognition and Management of Vulvar Dermatologic Conditions: Lichen Sclerosus, Lichen Planus, and Lichen Simplex Chronicus," published in Volume 57, Number 3 (May/June 2012) of the Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health.

2013 ACNM Fellows
Mary Carol Akers,CNM, PhD, USA, LTC (Ret), LCCE, FACNM (Elizabethtown, KY)
Sharon M. Bond, CNM, PhD, FACNM (Mt. Pleasant, SC)
Ilene Gelbaum, CNM, FACNM (Torrance, CA)
Cynthia B. Flynn, CNM, PhD, FACNM (Bryn Mawr, PA)
Mamie Guidera, CNM, MSN, FACNM(Merion Station, PA)
Linda Hunter, CNM, EdD, FACNM(Pawtucket, RI)
Deborah Brandt Karsnitz, CNM, DNP, FACNM(Simpsonville, KY)
Carrie S. Klima, CNM, PhD, FACNM(Chicago, IL)
Lonnie C. Morris, CNM, ND, FACNM(Tenafly, NJ)
Linda Nanni, CNM, MS, FACNM (Providence, RI)
Julia C. Phillippi, CNM, PhD, FACNM (Brentwood, TN)
Catherine Moore Salam, CNM, MS, FACNM (Annapolis, MD)
Maria S. Valentin-Welch, CNM, MPH, FACNM (Pittsboro, NC)
Angela Wilson-Liverman, MSN, CNM, FACNM (Nashville, TN)
Susan Marie Yount, CNM, PhD, WHNP-BC, FACNM (Tucson, AZ)

2013 ACNM Outstanding Preceptors
Susan Hodgson, CNM
Melanie Dossey, CNM
Lauren Abrams, CNM
Anne Sigouin, CNM
Margaret Montgomery, CNM
Crystal Murphy, CNM
Robin Bigby, CNM
Jacqueline Greenfield, CNM
Erin McMahon, CNM
Verna Raynor, CNM, PhD
Jodi Wagner, CNM, MSN, APNP
Lindsay Kragle Griffith, CNM
Audrey Groff, CNM
Rita O`Reilly, CNM
Susan Greene, CNM
Karen McConnell, CNM

Media Award:
PBS Call the Midwife series

Organizational Partner Award:
American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

Book of the Year Award:
1) Sunday Morning, Shamwana: A Midwife's Letters from the Field
Linda Orsi Robinson, CNM

2) Optimal Care in Childbirth: The Case for a Physiologic Approach

Henci Goer and Amy Romano, CNM, MSN

ACNM Video Contest Winner:
Publicity Committee of the Washington State ACNM Affiliate

American College of Nurse-Midwives
409 12th St SW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20024-2188
Phone: 240.485.1800
All rights reserved