Return to Engage > Awards > ACNM Awards > 2014 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners

Click the links for full information and press releases.

Hattie Hemschemeyer Award
Judith S. Mercer, CNM, PhD, FACNM

Kitty Ernst Award
Kim Q. Dau, CNM, MS

Louis E. Hellman Midwifery Partnership Award
Thomas Moore, MD

Distinguished Service Award
Ellen Martin, CNM, MS, FACNM
Susan R. Stapleton, CNM, DNP, FACNM
Kimberly A. Couch, CNM

Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health Awards
The following two awards are sponsored by Wiley-Blackwell

Mary Ann Shah New Author Award
Kathie L. Lloyd, CNM, MSN, RN, CNS
For the article entitled, "Protecting Pregnant Women, Newborns, and Families from Pertussis".

Best Research Article of the Year Award
Susan Stapleton, CNM, DNP, FACNM; Cara Osborne, CNM, SD; Jessica Illuzzi, MD, MS, FACOG
For the article entitled: "Outcomes of Care in Birth Centers: Demonstration of a Durable Model".

Best Review Article of the Year Award
Joanna Bloomfield, MPH; Sharon S. Rising, CNM, MSN, FACNM
For the article entitled: "CenteringParenting: An Innovative Dyad Model for Group Mother-infant Care".

2014 ACNM Fellows
Tanya Bailey, CNM, MSN, FACNM (NC)
Patricia Burkhardt, CM, LM, DrPH, FACNM (NY)
Victoria Henderson Burslem, CNM, MSN, FACNM (MS)
Michelle Rene Collins, CNM, PhD, FACNM (TN)
Connie Dewees, CNM, DrPH, MN, FACNM (NC)
Michelle Grandy, CNM, MN, FACNM (WA)
Milree Keeling, CNM, MS, BCSI, FACNM (MA)
Julia Lange Kessler, CM, RN, DNP, FACNM (NY)
Gwen Amber Latendresse, CNM, PhD, FACNM (UT)
Elaine M. Moore, CNM, MSN, FACNM (TN)
Whitney Ann Pinger, CNM, MSN, FACNM (Washington, DC)
Connie Swentek, CNM, MSN, FACNM (CA)
Ruth E. Zielinski, CNM, PhD, FACNM (MI)

2014 ACNM Outstanding Preceptors
Margaret Holcomb, CNM, DNP
Group Health Tacoma Midwifery Practice
OB/GYN Associates of Kerrville Texas Midwifery Practice
Pamela Auman, CNM
Jalana N. Lazar, CNM, WHNP
Theresa Gay, CNM
Tanya McDermott, CNM
Amber Evans, CNM
DeAnna Griebenow, CNM
Heather Paar, CNM
Kathleen Harmon, CNM
Sukdai Mangru, CNM
Kate Harrod, CNM, PhD, FACNM
Kara Myers, CNM
Richard Jennings, CNM, MSN
Megan Donaghy, CNM
Eliza Burelle, CNM, MSN
Elaine Rosenwach, CNM
Tom Chappell, CNM, MSN
Sylyna Kennedy, CNM, RN, MSN
Rebecca Garrett-Brown, CNM
Connie Swentek, CNM, MSN, FACNM
Teresa Damery, CNM
Monica Newby, CNM
Carla Morrow, CNM
Linda Gillet, CNM
Lisa Mattke, CNM

Media Award:
C. Margo Mowbray, An Answering Flame: Horseback Nurse in an Adverse Land

Organizational Partner Award:
Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses

Book of the Year Award:

Nancy Bardacke, CNM, MA
For the book entitled: Mindful Birthing: Training the Mind, Body, and Heart for Childbirth and Beyond

Patricia Harman, CNM
For the book entitled: The Midwife of Hope River: A Novel of an American Midwife

Exemplary Affiliate Award
North Carolina State Affiliate of ACNM

ACNM Video Contest Winner(s)
Emily Fitzgerald, "Midwifery Moment of Truth"
The University of Pennsylvania Midwifery Class of 2014, "Choose a Midwife"

American College of Nurse-Midwives
409 12th St SW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20024-2188
Phone: 240.485.1800
All rights reserved