Return to Engage > Awards > ACNM Awards > 2011 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

Click the links for full information and press releases. A.C.N.M. Foundation Award Winners can  be found here.


Hattie Hemschemeyer Award
Dr. Leah Albers, CNM, DrPH, FACNM, FAAN, from Albuquerque, NM.

Kitty Ernst Award
Melissa Willmarth, CNM, DNP, from Florence, KY.

Louis E. Hellman Midwifery Partnership Award
Timothy Johnson, MD, FACOG

Public Policy Award
Lonnie Morris, CNM, ND, of Tenafly, NJ
Mary Rossi, CNM, of Minneapolis, MN
Nell Tharpe, CNM, of East Boothbay, ME

Distinguished Service Award
Jeanne Prentice, CNM, of Spearfish, SD
Maureen Shannon, CNM, FNP, PhD, of Kailua, HI

Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health Awards
The following two awards are sponsored by Wiley-Blackwell

Mary Ann Shah New Author Award

Jeremy Neal, CNM, PhD, RNC, of Delaware, OH
For the article entitled: "Active Labor: Duration and Dilation Rates Among Low-Risk, Nulliparous Women With Spontaneous Labor Onset: A Systematic Review" published in Volume 55, Issue 4 (July/August 2010) of the Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health.

Best Article of the Year Award
Dr. Leissa Roberts, CNM, DNP; Brenda Gulliver, RN, MS; Janet Fisher, RNC, BSN; and Kristin G. Cloyes, RN, PhD for the article entitled: "The Coping with Labor Algorithm: An Alternate Pain Assessment Tool for the Laboring Woman" published in Volume 55, Issue 2 (March/April 2010) of the Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health.

2011 ACNM Fellows
Linda Bergstrom, CNM, PhD, FACNM
Heather Bradford, CNM, ARNP, FACNM
Joyce Brewer, CNM, PhD, FNP-BC, FACNM
Mary Ann Faucher, CNM, MPH, PhD, FACNM
Jennifer Foster, CNM, MPH, PhD, FACNM
Marie Hastings-Tolsma, CNM, PhD, FACNM
Cecilia M. Jevitt, CNM, PhD, FACNM
R. Rima Jolivet, CNM, MSN, DrPH, FACNM
Mavis Schorn, CNM, PhD, FACNM
Suzanne Stalls, CNM, MA, FACNM

2011 ACNM Outstanding Preceptors
Lauren Abrams, CNM
Angela Anderson, CNM, DNP
Lisa Chickadonz, CNM
Nancy Donaldson, CNM
Mary Ann Durbin, CNM
Denise Gershwin, CNM
Katie Isaac, CNM
Laurie Jurkiewicz, CNM
Denise Keppel, CNM
Kate Koschoreck, CNM
Jackie Martin, DNP, CNM
Donna McLean, CNM
Donna Mosier, CNM
Linda Nanni, CNM
Candace Riehl, CNM
Sally Rae Soucy, CNM
Catherine Schwob, CNM
Kim Tisch, CNM
Annette Tomasello, CNM
Pam Ward, CNM

Successful Models of Collaborative Practice in Maternity Care: Winning papers, plus honorable mentions and finalists

American College of Nurse-Midwives
409 12th St SW, Suite 600, Washington, DC 20024-2188
Phone: 240.485.1800
All rights reserved