This is the login panel

Return to Engage > A.C.N.M. Foundation > Awards Recipients > 2018 Award Recipients

2018 Award Recipients

Dorothea M. Lang Pioneer Award
This award honors midwifery's 'unsung heroes' who have demonstrated pioneering vision and innovative leadership. Award winners are exceptional CNMs or CMs who are members of ACNM, have been certified for at least 10 years, and have not previously received the Hattie Hemschemeyer Award. The Lang Award is aptly named for the late Dorothea M. Lang, CNM, MPH, FACNM - past-president of ACNM and the A.C.N.M. Foundation, whose visionary leadership has advanced the profession of midwifery in countless ways.

Anne M. Richter, MPH, CNM (Ret.)

Barbara Hughes, CNM, NP, MS, MBA, FACNM 

Louis M Hellman MD Midwifery Partnership Award

Judith Kimelman, MD 

Therese Dondero Memorial Lecture

Terri Coates, MSc, RN, RM, ADM, Dip Ed 

Bonnie Westenberg Pedersen International Midwife Award

    Darwin Dela Cruz Diaz, RN, RM, MAN, EdD      


Jeanne Raisler Award for International Midwifery

        Mallory Betz, CNM, MSN, BASW 

A.C.N.M. Foundation Fellowship for Graduate Education

Meagan Chuey, MS, CNM, RN 

Carrington-Hsia-Nieves Doctoral Scholarship for Midwives of Color

Paulomi (Mimi) Niles, CNM, MSN, MPH (New York University) 

W. Newton Long Award

            Nicolle Uban, CNM, PhD, APRN

Jill Alliman, CNM, DNP 

Varney Participant Award

Jennifer Almanza, SNM, BA (University of Minnesota)

Paige Tiernon, SNM, BSN (University of Colorado) 

Basic Midwifery Scholarships

The Edith B. Wonnell CNM Scholarship

Elisa Weatherbee, SNM, SA-C (Thomas Jefferson University)

Midwives of Color-Watson Scholarship

Marlies Biesinger, SNM, MSN (Columbia University)

Rosa Torres, SNM, BSN (Baystate Medical Center)

Natima Geis, SNM, BSN (Vanderbilt University)

Diana Rumbo, SNM, BSN (University of California, San Francisco)

Christine Nuger CNM Memorial Scholarship

Matthew Medina, SNM, MSN (Baystate Medical Center)

A.C.N.M. Foundation Memorial Scholarship

Danielle Bulinski, SNM, BSN (Emory University)

Rose Fisher, SNM, (Frontier Nursing University) 

Midwifery Legacies Project 20th Century Student Interview Awards

1st Place:          Lucille Glick, SNM (Oregon Health & Science University)

2nd Place          Tia Mullahey, SNM (Ohio State University)

3rd Place:         Mary Flanigan, SNM (Vanderbilt University)


Mention:          Brittany Hayes, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

                        Megan Lewis, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

                        Anne Laird, SNM (Seattle University)

                        Lauran Mix, SNM (Vanderbilt University) 

Thacher Community Grants*

Elizabeth Curtis, CNM

Angie Chisholm, CNM

Ali Starling, CNM, MPH & Lisa Jim, RN

R. Kate Mitchell, CNM & Allison Conti-Taranto, CNM 

Thacher-MBN Leadership Development Awards: Fall 2017**

Erin Baird, CNN, MS

Amy Davenport, CNM, MSN, MPH, IBCLC

Greta Gill, CNM, MSN

Emily Hayes, CNM, DNP, WHNP

Venay Uecke, CNM, MSN, DNPc


Texas Midwifery Creation Scholarship

Erica Eggebrecht, SNM, BSN, MBA (Texas Tech)

Olivia Delavega, SNM, BSN, RNC-MNN (Texas Tech)

Lesslie Bull, SNN, BSN, RNC-OB (Texas Tech) 

All in honor of Nancy Jo Reedy, CNM, MPH, FACNM & Mary Brucker, CNM, PhD, FACNM, FAAN


The A.C.N.M. Foundation Staff Appreciation Award

Maura Christopher, Senior Editor & Writer, ACNM

* Supported by the Frances T. Thacher Midwifery Leadership Endowment

** Supported by the Frances T. Thacher Midwifery Leadership Endowment with matching funds from the Midwifery Business Network (MBN).

rev 0618

Support the Teresa Marsico Memorial Fund and Help Fulfill ACNM’s Strategic Plan

Donors to the A.C.N.M. Foundation can help ACNM achieve their 2015-2020 Strategic Plan by designating their monies to the “Marsico Fund” when making contributions at: Click Here
American College of Nurse-Midwives
8403 Colesville Rd. Ste. 1550 Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: 240.485.1800 Fax: 240.485.1818
All rights reserved