2017 Award Recipients


Hattie Hemschemeyer Award

The Hattie Hemschemeyer Award, named in honor of ACNM’s first president and a pioneer of the profession, is ACNM’s most prestigious award and is given annually to an ACNM member who has been certified for at least 10 years and has made continuous outstanding and/or historically significant contributions to midwifery, ACNM, and/or maternal child health.

Frances T. Thacher, CNM, MS, FACNM

Kitty Ernst Award

The Kitty Ernst Award, affectionately known as the “Young Whippersnapper Award,” is named after the College’s fourth and youngest president, and one of its most dynamic living legends. The Kitty Ernst Award was established in 1998 to honor an ACNM member who has been certified for less than 10 years and has demonstrated innovative, creative endeavors in clinical practice, education, administration, or research relating to midwifery and women’s health.

Ann Marie Konkoly, CNM

Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes a CNM/CM or other professional for an unusual and exemplary effort in the field of community service, innovation in midwifery practice, education, or research. 

Kathryn Schrag, CNM, FNP

Mary Theresa Bradish, CNM Nadene Brunk, CNM, MSN

Public Policy Award

Karen Jefferson, CM, MS, FACNM

Susan Rooks, CNM, MPH

Media Award

Lisa Yarger

Lovie: The Story of a Southern Midwife and an Unlikely Friendship (University of North Carolina Press) 

Best Book of the Year Award

Sharon Schindler Rising CNM, MSN, FACNM

Charlotte Houde Quimby CNM, MSN, FACNM

The Centering Pregnancy Model: The Power of Group Health Care

Journal of Midwifery & Women’s Health: Mary Ann Shah New Author Award

Jyesha Wren Serbin, CNM, WHNP-BC, MS

The Impact of Racism and Midwifery’s Lack of Racial Diversity: A Literature Review Immunization

Outstanding Preceptor Award

Theresa Gay, CNM

Lindsay Carleton, CNM

Heather Lane, CNM

Fern Jaffe, CNM

Michelle Barcus, CNM, MSN

Melody Shambley, CNM

Jessica Brumley, CNM

Jenny Allen, CNM

Nikole Gettings, CNM

Rachel Kay, CNM, MPH, MSN

Susan Comte, CNM, MSN

Stephanie Tillman, CNM

Sarah Hakala MS, CNM

Mary Anne Scherer, CNM, MSN, RN

Kyanna Kuntz, CNM

Kathy Leggitt, CNM, MS

Susan Akins, CNM

Julie King CNM

Vanessa Wright, CNM, NP, MS

Ana Delgado, CNM

Excellence in Teaching Award

Laura Zeidenstein, CNM, MSN, DNP, FACNM

Kathy Herron, CNM

Erin McMahon, CNM, EdD

Dawn Durain, CNM, MS, PhD, FACNM

Pamela Reis, CNM, PhD, NNP-BC

Kate Woeber, CNM

Kim Baraona, CNM, DNP, ARPN

Anita Lenas, CNM, DNPc, MSN, FNP

Jeremy Neal, CNM, PhD, RN

Megan Arbour, CNM, MS, PhD, FACNM

Lee Kirstin Roosevelt, CNM, PhD, MPH

Lisa Hanson, CNM, PhD, FACNM

Melissa Saftner, CNM, PhD

Marie Hastings-Tolsma, CNM, PhD, FACNM

Nancy Jo Reedy, CNM, MPH, FACNM

Debra Penney, CNM, MPH

Rebekah Kaplan, CNM

A.C.N.M Foundation Awards

Dorothea M. Lang Pioneer Award

This award honors midwifery's "unsung heroes" who have demonstrated pioneering vision and innovative leadership. Award winners are exceptional CNMs or CMs who are members of ACNM, have been certified for at least 10 years, and have not previously received the Hattie Hemschemeyer Award. The Lang Award is aptly named for Dorothea M. Lang, CNM, MPH, FACNM - past-president of ACNM and the A.C.N.M. Foundation, whose visionary leadership has advanced the profession of midwifery in countless ways.

Rosemary J. Mann, CNM, MSN, JD, PhD
Susan J. Leibel, MSN, MPH

Louis M. Hellman Midwifery Partnership Award

John W. Larsen, Jr. MD, George Washington University

Therese Dondero Memorial Lecture

Timothy R.B. Johnson, Jr., MD, FACOG

Bonnie Westenberg Pedersen International Midwife Award

Not awarded in 2017; to be given again in 2018.

Jeanne Raisler Award for International Midwifery

Jennifer Neczypor, RN, SNM, Vanderbilt University

A.C.N.M. Foundation Graduate Education Fellowship

Karen Trister Grace, PhDc, MSN, CNM, Johns Hopkins University SON
Carrington-Hsia-Nieves Doctoral Scholarship for Midwives of Color
Venay Uecke, CNM, MSN University of New Mexico (Fall 2016)

W. Newton Long Award

Adria Goodness, MN, CNM, PMHNP-BC
Michelle Collins, CNM, PhD, FACNM
Wreatha Carner, CNM, MN, DNP

Varney Participant Award

Paris Maloof-Bury, SNM (Frontier Nursing University)
Heidi Carter, SNM (Frontier Nursing University)

Basic Midwifery Scholarships

GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Health Care Scholarship

Heidi Carter, SNM (Frontier Nursing University)

Midwives of Color-Watson Scholarship

Jeanine Valrie-Logan, SNM (Frontier Nursing University)
Karen Ojeda, SNM (Frontier Nursing University) 
Tenzing Sherpa, SNM (Case Western Reserve University)

The Edith B. Wonnell CNM Scholarship

Mari Upshaw, SNM (University of New Mexico)

Christine Nuger CNM Memorial Scholarship

Rebecca Palmer, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

A.C.N.M. Foundation Memorial Scholarship

Kathryn Dirks, SNM (Emory University) 
Christine Higgins, SNM (Emory University) 
Chloe Campbell, SN (SUNY Downstate- Direct Entry)

Midwifery Legacies Project 20th Century Student Interview Awards

1st Place: Rebecca Palmer, SNM (Vanderbilt University)
2nd Place : Phoebe Lithgow, SNM (University of Pennsylvania)
3rd Place: Jennifer Neczypor, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

Honorable Mention:

Katherine Tan, SNM (Vanderbilt)
Rebecca Smiddy, SNM (Georgetown)
Rebekah Randall, SNM (Texas Tech)
Alexandra Speros, SNM (Vanderbilt)

Thacher Community Grants*

Kelly Roberts, CNM, MSN (Fall, 2016)
Erin Morelli, CNM, MSN (Fall, 2016)

Thacher-MBN Leadership Development Awards** (Fall 2016)

Mary Lou Kopas, CNM, MN
Darlaine Laviolette, CNM, MSN
Erin McMahon, CNM, MSN, EdD
Jennifer Steir, CNM, MSN
C. Nichole Wardlaw, CNM, MSEd, MSN

Texas Midwifery Creation Scholarship

Lauren Olvera, SNM (Baylor) - In memory of Nivia Nieves Fisch, CNM, FACNM 
Rebekah Randall, SNM (TX Tech) - In honor of Sr. Angela Murdaugh, CNM, FACNM

The A.C.N.M. Foundation Staff Appreciation Award

Ashley West, ACNM Communication and Marketing Specialist

* Supported by the Frances T. Thacher Midwifery Leadership Endowment

** Supported by the Frances T. Thacher Midwifery Leadership Endowment with matching funds from the Midwifery Business Network (MBN).

rev 07/17