This is the login panel

Return to Engage > A.C.N.M. Foundation > Awards Recipients > 2016 Award Recipients

2016 Award Recipients

Dorothea M.
Lang Pioneer Award

This award honors midwifery's "unsung heroes" who have demonstrated
pioneering vision and innovative leadership. Award winners are exceptional CNMs
or CMs who are members of ACNM, have been certified for at least 10 years, and
have not previously received the Hattie Hemschemeyer Award. The Lang Award is
aptly named for Dorothea M. Lang, CNM, MPH, FACNM - past-president of ACNM and
the A.C.N.M. Foundation, whose visionary leadership has advanced the profession
of midwifery in countless ways.


Susan A. DeJoy, CNM, MSN, PhD, FACNM
Carol A.L. Howe, CNM, DNSc, FACNM, FAAN
Kay D. Sedler, CNM-ret, MN, FACNM

Bonnie Westenberg Pedersen
International Midwife Award:

Given in memory of Bonnie Pedersen CNM to enable an outstanding
international midwife to attend the ACNM Annual Meeting as our honored
guest.This award recognizes the exemplary leadership of the awardee in
advancing maternal and child health and midwifery, thereby assuring safe births
for mothers and babies in their home country.


Bupe Mwamba, Nurse and Midwife, Zambia

Therese Dondero Memorial Lecture


Mary Ellen Stanton, CNM, MSN, FACNM

Louis M. Hellman Midwifery Partnership Award


John W. Larsen, Jr. MD, George Washington University

A.C.N.M. Foundation Graduate Education


Carrie E. Neerland, MS, APRN, CNM, PhD candidate, University of Minnesota, School of Nursing

W. Newton Long Award


Martha Goedert, CNM, FNP, PhD, FACNM

Basic Midwifery


GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Health Care Scholarship
Stephanie Estes, SNM (Johns Hopkins University/Shenandoah University)

Midwives of Color-Watson Scholarship

Stacie Walker, SNM (Shenandoah University)
Ebony Simpson, SNM (Frontier Nursing University)
Essence Williams, SNM (Frontier Nursing University)

The Edith B. Wonnell CNM Scholarship

Jennifer Neczypor, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

A.C.N.M. Foundation Memorial Scholarship

Cynthia Stoffel, SNM (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Christine Nuger CNM Memorial Scholarship

Allison Lawrence, SNM (Yale University)

Varney Participant Award


Stephanie Estes, SNM (Johns Hopkins / Shenandoah University)

Leah Rashidyan, SNM (San Diego State University)

Carrington-Hsia-Nieves Doctoral
Scholarship for Midwives of Color

Karline Wilson-Mitchell, CNM, RM, MSN,DNP (Frontier Nursing University)

Midwifery Legacies Project 20th Century Student
Interview Awards


1st Place: Caroline Reid, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

2nd Place: Rose Fisher, SNM (Frontier Nursing University)

3rd Place: Jennifer Neczypor, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

Honorable Mention:

Sharon Bates King (Vanderbilt University)

Emilee Head Lazo (Vanderbilt University)

Rebecca Soderlind Rice (Vanderbilt University)

A.C.N.M. Foundation Staff Appreciation Award


Salvador Chairez
Ray Allen

Kiev Martin

Foundation Leadership Development Award:

Thacher Fellowships (late 2015) **


Colleen Brezine, CNM, MSN
Beth N. Carlson, CNM, MSN

Adelicia Graham, CNM, FNPc, MSN
Thanh-Xuan Le, CNM, WHNP, MSN
Sheri Matteo, CNM, MSN
Patricia Scane, CNM, MS

Thacher Community Grants *


Karla Benzyl, MD (Fall, 2015)
Martine Jean-Baptiste, CNM (Fall, 2015)
Nancy Comello, CNM (Spring, 2016)
Susan Kamin, CNM (Spring, 2016)

* Supported by the Frances T. Thacher Midwifery
Leadership Endowment

** Supported by the Frances T. Thacher Midwifery
Leadership Endowment with matching funds from the Midwifery Business Network

Support the Teresa Marsico Memorial Fund and Help Fulfill ACNM’s Strategic Plan

Donors to the A.C.N.M. Foundation can help ACNM achieve their 2015-2020 Strategic Plan by designating their monies to the “Marsico Fund” when making contributions at: Click Here
American College of Nurse-Midwives
8403 Colesville Rd. Ste. 1230 Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone: 240.485.1800 Fax: 240.485.1818
All rights reserved