Return to Newsroom & Events > Newsroom > News Releases

For Immediate Release
March 4, 2015

Contact: Damaris Hay
Email:[email protected]
Office: (240) 485-1856

Download PDF here

American College of Nurse-Midwives Elects New President, Board Members, Nominating Committee Members

Silver Spring, MD –Lisa Kane Low, CNM, PhD, FACNM, FAAN, has been elected President-Elect of the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM). Also elected to the ACNM Board of Directors are a new Secretary, Region II Representative, Region V Representative, and two Nominating Committee members.

All new members of the Board will be inducted at the ACNM 60th Annual Meeting & Exhibition in National Harbor, MD, June 27-July 1, 2015. As incoming ACNM President-elect, Low will serve 1 year alongside ACNM President Ginger Breedlove CNM, PhD, APRN, FACNM, and officially become President at the ACNM 61st Annual Meeting in Albuquerque in 2016.

“These are exciting but challenging times for midwives and the midwifery profession in the US and around the world,” Breedlove said. “ACNM leaders will have the opportunity to continue our important work to achieve greater recognition and acceptance for the expertise midwives bring to women’s health care. I look forward to working with Lisa as she joins the rest of our board in moving our agenda forward.”

Low is Coordinator of the Nurse Midwifery Education Program and Associate Professor of Nursing and Women’s Studies at the University of Michigan. She has been active in ACNM for nearly 30 years and leads the Healthy Birth Initiative subcommittee tasked with creating

“It is an honor to be able to join the other members of the board to continue the many initiatives they have been leading to promote the role of midwives as leaders who can make a positive difference in women’s health outcomes,” Low said. “It’s vital that we continue the momentum that has been gained and I am excited to think we are reaching a tipping point where midwifery care and models of collaborative practice with midwives are the mainstream.”

Stephanie Tillman, CNM, MSN, has been elected Secretary. Tillman is practicing full-scope midwifery at Access Community Health Network and attends births at multiple hospitals in Chicago, IL. She has been active in ACNM for more than 6 years since she began midwifery school. She has previously served as the co-chair of the newly- named Students and New Midwives Section (SANMS) of the Division of Education. This is Tillman’s first term of office on the board. ACNM’s current board secretary is Kathryn Harrod, who is completing her second 3-year term as Secretary.

Mairi Breen Rothman, CNM, MSN, was re-elected to her second term as Region II Representative. Rothman is practicing full-scope midwifery with M.A.M.A.S. Inc., the home birth practice she co-founded in Takoma Park, MD. She has been a midwife for more than 20 years. She was re-elected to a second term to serve as ACNM Region II Representative.

Lynne Himmelreich, CNM, MPH, FACNM, was re-elected to her second term as Region V Representative. Himmelreich is Service Director of the Nurse-Midwifery Service in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Carver College of Medicine in Iowa, as well as holding a teaching position there. She has been active in ACNM for more than 20 years, and is the only ACNM Fellow in her state.

The winners of this year’s election will join Cathy Collins-Fulea (Vice President), Joan Slager (Treasurer), Anne Gibeau (Region I), Michael McCann (Region III), Kathleen Moriarty (Region IV) Jane Dyer (Region VI) and Barbara Anderson (Region VII). ACNM also has an appointed non-voting student representative to our board. This position rotates annually. Our current student representative is Shannon Keller of East Carolina University; our 2015-2016 student representative will be announced at a later time.

ACNM members have also elected 2 new members to serve 3-year terms on the ACNM Nominating Committee. Mary Barger, CNM, PhD, MPH, FACNM, is Associate Professor at the Hahn School of Nursing and Health Sciences, University of San Diego. She has been active in ACNM for more than 30 years. Tonya Nicholson, CNM, DNP, WHNP-BC, is Program Director of Midwifery and Women’s Health/Associate Professor at Frontier Nursing University. She is an Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME) site visitor and serves in numerous volunteer capacities for ACNM.

Barger and Nicholson will join currently serving Nominating Committee members Patricia Burkhardt, Amy Romano, Maria Valentin-Welch, and Nichole Childs Wardlaw.

Learn more about ACNM’s incoming officers and their responsibilities at


For more information, please contact ACNM Media Relations, Social Media & Marketing Specialist Damaris Hay at 240-485-1856 or [email protected].

The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional association that represents certified nurse-midwives (CNMs) and certified midwives (CMs) in the United States. ACNM promotes excellence in midwifery education, clinical practice, and research. With roots dating to 1929, our members are primary care providers for women throughout the lifespan, with a special emphasis on pregnancy, childbirth, and gynecologic and reproductive health. ACNM provides research, administers and promotes continuing education programs, establishes clinical practice standards, and creates liaisons with state and federal agencies and members of Congress to increase the visibility and recognition of midwifery care.

8403 Colesville Road, Ste. 1550, Silver Spring, MD 20910-6374 · Phone: (240) 485-1800 · Fax: (240) 485-1818 ·


American College of Nurse-Midwives.
8403 Colesville Rd, Suite 1550 | Silver Spring MD 20910
Phone: 240-485-1800 | Fax: 240-485-1818
Follow Us