Return to About ACNM - American College of Nurse-Midwives > A.C.N.M. Foundation > Awards Recipients

The A.C.N.M. Foundation, Inc. Award & Scholarship Recipients ~ 2015

Dorothea M. Lang Pioneer Award

ALL ACNM Pioneer Midwives – 1955-1985

Therese Dondero Memorial Lecture

John Jennings, MD

Louis M. Hellman Midwifery Partnership Award

Ronald Burkman, Jr. MD

A.C.N.M. Foundation Graduate Education Fellowship

Alexis B. Dunn, CNM, MSN, PhD(c), Emory University

W. Newton Long Award

Sherilyn D. Gibbs, MS, CNM

Susan Salazar, CNM, PhD

Basic Midwifery Scholarships

GlaxoSmithKline TUMS Calcium for Life Consumer Health Care Scholarship

Emily Hazan, SNM (University of Washington)

Midwives of Color-Watson Scholarship

Sarah Sears, SNM (East Carolina University)

Ali Sevilla de Cocco, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

Maria Ascencion Ramos Bracamontes, SNM (U. California, San Francisco)

Mary Leung, SNM (University of Chicago)

The Edith B. Wonnell CNM Scholarship

Aimee Tom, SNM (University of California, San Francisco)

A.C.N.M. Foundation Memorial Scholarship

Mollie Gilbert Brody, SNM (University of Michigan)

Katherine Teela, SNM (Seattle University)

Anayah R. Sangodele-Ayoka, SNM (Yale University)

Varney Participant Award

Yuliya Labko, SNM (Johns Hopkins / Shenandoah University)       

Katherine Teela, RN, SNM (Seattle University)

Excellence in Teaching Awards

Molly Altman, PhD, CNM, MSPh (University of Washington)

Cara Busenhart, DNP (University of Kansas)

Beverly Carlson, PhD, RN, CNS, CCRN (San Diego University)

Susan DeJoy, CNM, MSN, PhD, FACNM (Bay State Medical Center)

Angela Deneris, CNM, PhD, FACNM (University of Utah)

Lisa Hanson, PhD, CNM, FACNM (Marquette University)

Jennifer Hensley, EdD, CNM, WHNP, LCCE (University of Colorado)

Cheri Van Hoover, CNM, MS (Philadelphia University)

Jane Houston, DNP, CNM (University of Florida)

Julia Lange Kessler, CM, DNP, FACNM (Georgetown University)

Monica McLemore, PhD, MPH, RN (University of California)

Pam Reis, PhD, CNM, NNP-BC (East Carolina University)

Heather Reynolds, MSN, CNM, FACNM (Yale University)

Julienne Rutherford, PhD (University of Illinois)

Tanya Tanner, PhD, CNM, MBA (Frontier Nursing University)

Kimberly Trout, PhD, CNM, APRN (University of Pennsylvania)

Catherine Virostko, CNM, MSN (Vanderbilt University)

Kelly Walker, DNP, CNM (Stony Brook University)

Judie Wika, CNM, MSN (Shenandoah University)

Kate Woeber, CNM, MSN, MPH (Emory University)

 Midwifery Legacies Project 20th Century Student Interview Awards

1st Place: Enabah Laracuente, SNM (Yale University)

2nd Place: Adela Griswold, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

3rd Place: Kimberly Fleming, SNM (East Carolina University)

Melissa Fleming, SNM (George Washington University)

Honorable Mention:

Mollie Gilbert Brodie, SNM (University of Michigan)

Crystal Stewart, SNM (Frontier Nursing University)

Brennan Taylor, SNM (Vanderbilt University)

The A.C.N.M. Foundation Staff Appreciation Award

Carol ‘Cari’ Ross, Executive Assistant

Clinical Stars

           Washington State

                        Victoria Fletcher, CNM

Sylvia Wood, CNM


Gretchen Mettler, CNM

Midwifery Leadership Development Fellowship: Thacher Fellows

To be announced, late 2015 **

Thacher Community Grants

To be announced, late 2015 *

* Supported by the Frances T. Thacher Midwifery Leadership Endowment

** Supported by the Frances T. Thacher Midwifery Leadership Endowment with matching funds from the Midwifery Business Network (MBN).

rev 07/15


Support the Teresa Marsico Memorial Fund and Help Fulfill ACNM’s Strategic Plan

Donors to the A.C.N.M. Foundation can help ACNM achieve their 2015-2020 Strategic Plan by designating their monies to the “Marsico Fund” when making contributions at:

American College of Nurse-Midwives.
8403 Colesville Rd, Suite 1550 | Silver Spring MD 20910
Phone: 240-485-1800 | Fax: 240-485-1818
Follow Us